Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

wolfecharlize
New Contributor

Just a brief intro

Hey, y'all. I think this is the right place to give a bit of background on myself. I'm sure my sob-story of a childhood would either take up too much time to read or just make people uncomfortable, so I'll say I had a pretty rough childhood and leave it at that. I'm 25, single, no children, and I have major depressive disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, a self-injury addiction, and anorexia nervosa. I've been self-injuring for 19 years, anorexic for 17 years, depressed for about 10 years, and I knew I had PTSD probably 8 years ago (though I first began exhibiting symptoms for about 18 years ago).

Most people think I'm basically fine, but I'm not. I'm just exceptional at pretending to be fine. I even manage to fool myself sometimes. Today I'm fooling everyone else, but not myself. Today I feel like there's no point in fighting because I've already lost.

Feel free to ask questions if there's anything I've neglected to say or if you want details. It's not overselling it to say that I'm an open book. 

2 REPLIES 2

Re: Just a brief intro

Hi @wolfecharlize, welcome to the forum. Smiley Happy