Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

bptsdan
New Contributor

Thinking while sleeping

Hey all, first post, please be gentle while I work out how these forums work.

I'm living with bipolar type 1 and PTSD, which relates to experiences of antigay bullying when I was in high school (25 years ago) and intergenerational family violence. Diagnosed with bipolar about 15 months ago and PTSD was picked up by a clin psych about 2 years ago and confirmed by my psychiatrist... this morning. Big day.

My bipolar is generally pretty stable, but every now and again I'll encounter triggers for post-traumatic stress. Sometimes my work (I'm a writer) puts me in the way of that. The same-sex marriage plebiscite last year really set me up for that. 

When I'm triggered, I tend to get a ton of emotion, not always clearly attached to the trigger or the related experience -- it can get attached to whatever I'm writing about. And then I ruminate about it for days. Medication has definitely helped stop the rumination. But recently I had to finish some writing that was on the very same topic I got triggered about. It should have taken a few days and it took me nearly a month. So the task itself kept returning me to the painful topic.

This is what I wanted to ask about: does anyone else experience 'thinking while they are asleep'? I'm trying to work out if that's common for bipolar or PTSD. I'm getting to sleep okay but then I wake up around 3AM to go pee and realise my brain has been working away, like I've been in a light slumber rather than fully asleep, thinking or dreaming or dreaming about thinking about the topic I'm writing about.