Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Daughter_86
Casual Contributor

Just reaching out

Hi . My name is Stephanie and this is my first time doing anything like this.

To sum it up my mum has been dealing with mental illness for the last 28 years. I live in Adelaide and my mum lives in Melbourne and has been in and out of hospitals nearly my entire life. I think myself and my family have realised she is never going to get "better" or as I used to put it healed but I do know that she is existing and doing the best she possible can. I could go on for the next few hours about my
Mum how beautiful women who had absolute everything, husband, money, friends - the life and then when she just had 2 kids her life was destroyed. After my dad left her in 2003 then everything went downhill.

Mum has
Lived with me, she has been in private rentals, wards in most hospitals and mental health units and now she is in state trustee home which I can honestly say is destroying her.

All I want is for my mum to feel safe and really need to look at possible other accommodation that is affordable and for somewhere she can feel safe, Now although she may be paranoid all she needs to feel is safe and private .

Hoping someone can help a desperate daughter trying to help my mum in what seems like a continuous downward spiral

Mum was diagnosed with bipolar and Schizophrenia....

Sent from my iPhone

14 REPLIES 14

Re: Just reaching out

Hi Stephanie,