Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

June9
New Contributor

Schizophrenia and dating

I’m starting to date someone with fairly treatment resistant paranoid schizophrenia, so I’m pretty new to the world of being a carer I guess. I’m looking for any guidance that people also on this road can offer, any pearls of wisdom so to speak. 

Fortunately I don’t have to get involved with meds at this stage, just getting to appts, shopping, bills etc., and we obviously catch up socially. 

I feel like a deer in the headlights right now. Sometimes he will tell me what the voices say, and other times he denies anything at all even tho I see him talking to himself. What do I need to be aware of? 

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Schizophrenia and dating

Well first off, I would like to say that because you are in good hands because I have dated someone with this disability, and my mom has this as well. You need to be very patient because this condition can be very hard to deal with if this guy you are dating is hearing voices. Also, make sure that you are aware of when he takes his medications, and also, that it may be very tough at first. I have seen my ex bf going through counseling treatment as well, so if you care about him enough just be there to support him through the tough trials, and honestly, don't go into too much stresses because this disability isn't really an easy one to handle, but within time it can be definitely treatable. My mom has her bad days and good days. Make sure you know his bc mood is a very big factor to how he feels. I wish you the best of luck

Hi @June9@hailanguyen1

I'm Margot, nice to meet you.