Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Ilovehiking
Contributor

When to return to work

Hi All, I have bipolar 2 and have been slowly crashing over the past 10 months. I've been home from work (I'm a high school teacher) for a couple of weeks now. My medication routine is still in transit into a new regime (under the care of my psychiatrist). My question is how will I know if I'm ready for work? I'm pretty teary and reactive at the moment which is probably not the best considering I work with teenagers. I was looking at returning next week but now I'm not so sure. 

What are your experiences?

6 REPLIES 6

Re: When to return to work

Hi @Ilovehiking I have Bipolar 1 and schizoaffective disorder. I would love to go back to work but there is no way that I could handle a job (me personally speaking) as a teacher of teenagers .... could they not put you on other duties whilst you are still in recovery? Shorter hours/ Part time maybe?

I think throwing yourself back into the lion's pit after a couple of weeks is too short a time ... I would speak to your psychiatrist and be very honest. At the end of the day only you really know whether or not you can cope with that kind of work right now.

ps: Going back to work should be a positive experience for you not one full of trepidation.

Wishing you well.

Hi @Ilovehiking,

I'm sorry to hear that the last 10 months have been so hard for you. Adjustment to new medication can be a difficult process, and I'm sure working with Teenagers, as you say, can add to your daily challenges and make you feel more emotional.